OSD 600 (Lab 7, creating a repo and the tools that are provided)

Overview:

This lab was to introduce all the tooling options my class and I have available to us from GitHub. We learned from having at Readme provided by git to using Travis-ci on making sure code we commit compile and being constantly tested

Questions:

Here are some question my professor wanted us to answer

  • what you did
    • We worked with many of the tooling options that GitHub provide us, such as creating a JSON package to being able to lint the code we write
  • what you learned
    • I learned how easy it is to set up a repo and implement proper practices such as using Travis-ci to make sure the code I submit will not break also the questionnaire JSON thing was the really cool thing to learn!
  • things you found interesting or difficult.
    • Most of this lab I found easy, the only hard part was working with lint on a windows computer, even after trying to do the commands on the command prompt, instead of git bash, it proved to be very challenging and frustrating. I am hoping to finish the lint part on my Linux laptop during the week.

My thoughts on the lab Parts

Creating a new Repo and cloning it:

This was an easy part, it just clicked and following the instruction. It was still cool that you can select to have a readme file, a .gitignore and a license right off the bat when creating a repo. This was definitely something really cool to learned and will be very helpful for me in the future

Initialize a new Node.js :

This part I thought was the coolest part of the lab, since we got to work with npm and have a question query to populate the JSON file, so you don’t have to create it manually (Extremely useful in my opinion). Definitely gonna remember the command  NPM help JSON for sure!

Create seneca.js:

This part was self-explanatory and was really easy. Not much to talk about this part

Add ESLint:

Well, when I started this part I thought “Piece of cake, this lab is easy”. Well, let’s just say I was dead wrong. it got to the part when it asked me how I would like to configure ESLint, and I could not move my arrow keys at all. So after asking my roommate Ray about he said to try to use the command prompt. I did and I could use the arrows, but for some reason, it would not save and cause even more problems. Still haven’t fixed this part yet

Automate Lint Checking:

This part was pretty simple just going in the JSON file and adding the test and where the lint is located

Use TravisCi:

This part was new territory like I have no clue what I am doing new. It was pretty cool to see how this website works with GitHub and how the testing works. Also enjoyed how fool proof it is and how much it can help any project.

Add Travis-Ci Badge to readme

This was pretty easy, just copy the markdown text provided by TravisCi and put it in the Readme file!

 

Overall:

I really enjoyed this lab, I learned a lot of cool tools that I have access to and learned why I should be using them constantly. I am looking forward to the next lab we have!

 

Leave a Reply

